Battling (Player versus Player) was officially released on July 1st, 2014.
Every user needs the Key Item VS. Seeker (which you can purchase in the Item Shop > Key Items) in order to battle.
Setting up a Battle
You can set up a new battle with your VS. Seeker. This item can be accessed from the Home-Tab in the navigation.
A VS. Seeker symbol appears in your Userbar when you receive a Battle Request, or when your partner accepted your request.
Your Pokémon attacks the opponent and deals damage, the amount depending on your Pokémon's Attack stat and the opponent's Defense stat.
Your Pokémon attacks the opponent and deals damage, the amount depending on your Pokémon's Special Attack stat and the opponent's Special Defense stat.
Your Pokémon tries to block the opponent's attack. The success rate is very high, though it can also fail sometimes. The chance of failing the "block" move increases when you use it multiple times in a row.
Your Pokémon charges its power for one round.
The following (special) attack deals much more damage!
Charging also lets you use Super Heal.
Charging multiple times in a row does not increase your power.
The "Charged" mode is only activated for one round.
Your Pokémon tries to heal itself. The amount of HP healed is lower than with a super-heal. Also, the chance of failing to heal is quite high. You can only use three Heals for each Pokémon per battle.
The super heal requires the "Charged"-mode. The Pokémon fills its HP nearly completely. The chance of failing to heal is rather low. You can only use three Super Heals for each Pokémon per battle.
You can buy different Battle Items from the Battle Shop. These can be useful to increase your Pokémon's stats or to weaken the opponent.
You receive a few Battle Points and some Pokédollar after finishing a battle.
The amount of these rewards is based on your strategy skills. This means that the system is rating your skills during the battle and is then evaluating a proper amount.
Losing the battle lowers your reward amount strongly.
Auto Intelligence Mode
When a user disconnects from a battle, the AI Mode is activated. The moves of the disconnected user are then automatically selected by the system.
This system tries to choose the moves intelligently, but you should not rely on it.
The Auto Intelligence Mode can be disabled before starting a battle.
Cancelling a battle
You are able to cancel a battle when the other user has been disconnected for more than 5 minutes. You will not receive any reward, and will not receive a win or a lose.